News Flash

Parks & Rec Spotlight

Posted on: October 16, 2020

AWARDS: The Branch Connection & Historical Park recognized by state association


FBTX ~ Two Parks and Recreation Department operations were recognized at Tuesday's City Council meeting for excellence in serving their audience.

   The Texas Recreation And Parks Society North Region award for 'Arts and Humanities Programming' went the Historical Park staff for their innovative and timely "Girls Make History" summer camp.

   In July, the Park turned back the hands of time for an interactive program that allowed campers to meet women from the past who helped shape the course of the nation. Re-enactors demonstrated the typical lives of women and girls from the American frontier through the Civil War and World War II eras. The event was sold out and campers left their mark on history with patchwork squares that became a camp quilt.

   The TRAPS North Region award for 'Excellence in Senior Programming' went to The Branch Connection staff for this year's popular Drive-Through Meal Program.

   When the pandemic shut down the senior center's breakfast and lunch services, our Connection staff got creative. They were committed to providing our seniors with a healthy meal in a safe environment. They did it with a unique drive-through meal service which offered meals-to-go throughout the facility's closure, plus a customized delivery service. 

   Mayor Dye presented both awards at this week's City Council meeting and congratulated the city employees behind each program.

Mayor Robert Dye (right) presents the Texas Recreation and Parks Society 2020 North Region Award for Arts and Humanities Programming to the staff of the Farmers Branch Historical Park. They are (from left) Tony Derrick, Hillary Kidd, Kim Chapman and Bonnie Neumann.

Historical Park Award recipients

The Branch Connection Manager Jackie Byles (right) accepts the Texas Recreation and Parks Society 2020 North Region Award for Excellence in Senior Programming along with staff from The Branch Connection. They are (from left) Rachael Arroyo, Jennifer Stone and Linda Klark.

The Branch Connection Award recipients

Facebook Twitter Email