Click to Home
HomeWeatherFacebookTwitterPinterestInstagramYouTube
Email

Go To Search
Departments - City ConnectionGovernment - Internal City StructureCommunity - Citizen EngagementBusiness - Tools for GrowthVisitors - Welcome
Defensive Driving

Driving Safety Course Instructions

Requirements for driving safety course to dismiss a traffic citation:

  1. An individual MUST enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest.”
  2. An individual MUST pay the administrative fee of $10 and State costs PLUS any additional fees.
  3. An individual MUST contact the court clerk’s office to find out exactly how much they must pay.
  4. An individual WILL NOT be eligible to take a driver safety course for the current violation if they have taken a driver safety course within the past 12 months. (IF ACTIVE MILITARY – NOT ELIGIBLE IF DRIVERS SAFETY COURSE TAKEN WITHIN THE PAST 12 MONTHS IN ANY STATE).
  5. An individual MUST have a valid Texas Driver License (If Active Military – Proof of Active Service will replace the TX D.L. requirement).
  6. An individual CANNOT hold a commercial driver’s license OR have held a commercial driver’s license at the time of the offense.
  7. An individual is ineligible for a driving safety course if the offense occurred in a construction zone when workers were present.
  8. An individual MUST provide CURRENT proof of financial responsibility, showing themselves as the policy holder or as a listed driver.

Attention
If an individual fails to complete the driving safety course and provide the proper proof, they will be required to appear for a show cause hearing. If an individual fails to appear at this hearing, a conviction of the offense will appear on that person's driving record.

Forms, Links and Information
Driver's Safety Request Form
Driver's Safety Affidavit Form
Texas - Driver's Record Request Form
Texas - Request Your Driving Record On-Line
Driver Responsibility Program Notice

Failure to appear or pay the citation by the court date assigned will cause the incurring of additional fines, fees and costs. The individual may be charged with a separate offense of Failure to Appear, which carries a maximum penalty of $500. A warrant will be issued for the individual’s arrest and may result in the loss of driving and vehicle registration privileges.

Speeding Violations Fine Schedule, On or After January 15, 2013

Speeding Fines
Amt Over Fine Costs
Total
<=10 $89.90 $99.10 = $189.00
11 $94.90 $99.10 = $194.00
12 $99.90 $99.10 = $199.00
13 $104.90 $99.10 = $204.00
14 $109.90 $99.10 = $209.00
15 $114.90 $99.10 = $214.00
16 $119.90 $99.10 = $219.00
17 $124.90 $99.10 = $224.00
18 $129.90 $99.10 = $229.00
19 $134.90 $99.10 = $234.00
20 $139.90 $99.10 = $239.00
21 $144.90 $99.10 = $244.00
22 $149.90 $99.10 = $249.00
23 $154.90 $99.10 = $254.00
24 $159.90 $99.10 = $259.00
25 $164.90 $99.10 = $264.00
26 $169.90 $99.10 = $269.00
27 $174.90 $99.10 = $274.00
28 $179.90 $99.10 = $279.00
29 $184.90 $99.10 = $284.00
30 $189.90 $99.10 = $289.00
31 $194.90 $99.10 = $294.00
>=32 $199.90 $99.10 = $299.00
School Zone Speeding Fines
Amt Over Fine Costs
Total
<=10 $114.90 $124.10 = $239.00
11 $119.90 $124.10 = $244.00
12 $124.90 $124.10 = $249.00
13 $129.90 $124.10 = $254.00
14 $134.90 $124.10 = $259.00
15 $139.90 $124.10 = $264.00
16 $144.90 $124.10 = $269.00
17 $149.90 $124.10 = $274.00
18 $154.90 $124.10 = $279.00
19 $159.90 $124.10 = $284.00
20 $164.90 $124.10 = $289.00
21 $169.90 $124.10 = $294.00
22 $174.90 $124.10 = $299.00
23 $179.90 $124.10 = $304.00
24 $184.90 $124.10 = $309.00
25 $189.90 $124.10 = $314.00
26 $194.90 $124.10 = $319.00
>=27 $199.90 $124.10 = $324.00