Requirements for driving safety course to dismiss a traffic citation:
- An individual MUST enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest.”
- An individual MUST pay the administrative fee and State costs PLUS any additional fees.
- An individual MUST contact the court clerk’s office to find out exactly how much they must pay.
- An individual WILL NOT be eligible to take a driver safety course for the current violation if they have taken a driver safety course within the past 12 months. (IF ACTIVE MILITARY – NOT ELIGIBLE IF DRIVERS SAFETY COURSE TAKEN WITHIN THE PAST 12 MONTHS IN ANY STATE).
- An individual MUST have a valid Texas Driver License (If Active Military – Proof of Active Service will replace the TX D.L. requirement).
- An individual CANNOT hold a commercial driver’s license OR have held a commercial driver’s license at the time of the offense.
- An individual is ineligible for a driving safety course if the offense occurred in a construction zone when workers were present.
- An individual MUST provide CURRENT proof of financial responsibility, showing themselves as the policy holder or as a listed driver.
- Make your request in person or by mail. If you opt to mail in your request, please include the request form on the citation along with the necessary fee (contact court clerks office), proof of insurance and valid Texas Drivers License.
- Once your request is approved, you will receive a packet of information of what you need to submit back to the court and by when. DO NOT BEGIN THE PROCESS OF YOUR COURSE OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS WITHOUT FIRST RECEIVING THIS PACKET.
- You will be required to submit to the court the following for dismissal. Please note item #3 is not needed if your initial setup was completed in person.
- Certified Certificate of Completion from a Texas Education Agency approved course (requires your signature)
- Certified copy of your driving record (#3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety
- Notarized affidavit (If you setup your request in person, this was completed at that time and already on file)
If an individual fails to complete the driving safety course and provide the proper proof, they will be required to appear for a show cause hearing. If an individual fails to appear at this hearing, a conviction of the offense will appear on that person's driving record.
Forms, Links and Information
Texas - Driver's Record Request Form (Request 3A)
Texas - Request Your Driving Record On-Line (Request 3A)
Driver's Safety Affidavit Form
Driver Responsibility Program Notice
Failure to appear or pay the citation by the court date assigned will cause the incurring of additional fines, fees and costs. The individual may be charged with a separate offense of Failure to Appear, which carries a maximum penalty of $500. A warrant will be issued for the individual’s arrest and may result in the loss of driving and vehicle registration privileges.