About Planning

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of 8 citizens appointed by the City Council. The current members are listed below:

  • David Moore - Chair
  • Sergio De Los Santos - Vice Chair
  • Tim Yarbough
  • Cristal Retana
  • Michael Driskill
  • Jared Sullivan
  • Giovanni Zavala
  • Linda Bertl

Hearing Dates

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets twice a month on the second and fourth Monday. Planning and Zoning Commission meetings are held at 7 p.m. in the City Council Chambers of the Farmers Branch City Hall located at 13000 William Dodson Parkway. Upcoming planning and zoning cases are posted as they arise. Download the current schedule here.

Staff Functions

The planning staff manages the City’s development process and coordinates the City’s activities regarding long-range land use planning. The planning division processes development applications, provides technical support to the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council, maintains the comprehensive plan as well as many other activities. Their focus is on development that will enhance the quality of life for residents and businesses.

The planning staff has experience in a wide variety of disciplines including architecture, city and regional planning, economics, geography, and mathematics. All members of the planning staff are licensed by the American Institute of Certified Planners.